DIY Sun Lotion

474A3909

It’s that time of year again when the temperatures are high and the sun is beating down! I like to make my own products because I like knowing what’s in them, and the quality of the materials used! Having a baby I wanted to make sure that I could protect her skin from the sun without added dangerous chemicals! This is a natural approach to sunscreen that you can make at home! It’s great and nourishing for the skin and provides coverage without all the toxic ingredients! Did you know that most commercial sunscreens contain endocrine disrupting chemicals that can sometimes promote skin cancer growth, accelerate skin aging, and free radical production in the body? Here is a good article highlighting the above!

This is what you will need:

1/4 cup beeswax

1/2 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup almond oil

2 Tbl shea butter

1 tsp red raspberry seed oil

20 drops Young Living Carrot Seed Oil

2 Tbl non-nano uncoated zinc oxide (Be sure to use non nano zinc oxide 100nm or larger as anything smaller can be absorbed through the skin. Larger particles sit on the top of your skin and reflect the sun rays.)

Optional: Essential Oil for fragrance.

I made my sunscreen around SPF 15 but you can add more zinc for more protection. The other oils used do have some natural protective properties as well!

Melt beeswax in a double boiler. Add shea butter, coconut oil and mix until melted. Then add the almond oil, and red raspberry seed oil. Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly. Add the Young Living Carrot Seed Essential Oil and I added Lavender (to help mask the scent of Carrot Seed Oil…it’s a strong one!) and because it is great for the skin! Finally mix in the zinc oxide. Stir continually as it begins to set. You want to ensure the zinc is mixed throughout. Allow to cool.

Apply as needed, every few hours. Be sure to store out of the heat as this will melt into a liquid at high temperatures! I have a small container that I take out with me so if it melts it’s not a big deal.

I store the rest in the fridge.

474A3910

Have you made your own sunscreen before? I would love to hear your experience!

Leave a comment